Scroll to top
Image of seniors boarding a shuttle

Services at a Glance

Public Transit

Public transit includes buses, trains, and ferries with fixed routes that are open to the general public. Accommodations for seniors and people with disabilities include priority seating, wheelchair lifts, audible stop announcements, and elevators at stations. Public transit services serving Alameda County include AC Transit, Altamont Corridor Express (ACE), Amtrak, BART, Broadway “B”, County Connection, Dumbarton Express, Emery Go-Round, Estuary Crossing Shuttle, San Francisco Bay Ferry, San Leandro LINKS, Union City Transit, Valley Transportation Authority (VTA), West Berkeley Shuttle, WHEELS. These systems connect to other transit providers including Muni and Caltrain.
Learn more about Public Transit >>

ADA Paratransit

Paratransit services are mandated by the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) to provide mobility for people who, due to a disability, are unable to ride regular buses and trains some or all of the time. ADA paratransit is a parallel service to regular public transportation services (buses and trains). This means paratransit services operate in the same area, on the same days, and during the same hours as regular public transit. ADA paratransit services in Alameda County include East Bay Paratransit, Union City Paratransit, and WHEELS Dial-a-Ride.
Learn more about ADA Paratransit >>

City Programs

Many of Alameda County’s cities use funds from the local transportation sales tax known as Alameda County Measure B, which was passed by 82% of Alameda County voters in 2000, to provide city programs. All of the city programs provide a core door-to-door or curb-to-curb service and may provide supplemental services as well. While every program is available to seniors age 80 and older; some programs have lower age requirements for the services.
Learn more about City Programs >>